Sarah Gallaway

Trustee & Volunteer

I’m currently studying for a BSc (Hons) in Horticulture at Writtle University College and will graduate in 2020. Whilst studying, I am also employed as a Horticulturist with a gardening company based in Chelmsford managing all aspects of domestic clients’ gardens. I’m passionate about plants, using our resources sustainably and interested in how connection to green spaces can make a difference to people’s lives.

Having spent nearly 30 years commuting to London and having a professional IT Procurement career, I have turned a pastime into a new career. I have excellent interpersonal, organisation and project management skills, which I bring to my trustee duties at Kool Carers.
Having grown up in Hawkwell, my childhood was spent with friends climbing trees, building dens and riding our bikes. We were always outside playing in the countryside and very much connected to
nature.

My horticulture passion was influenced by my late Father, as I recall pinching out the side shoots of our tomato plants and watering them. He, like his own father who was a Head Gardener at a Scottish estate, was a keen gardener – it must be in the genes!

I live in Hockley with my husband Mark and our four furry felines. Rachel has been a good friend of mine since our college days and I was very honoured to be asked to become a trustee of Kool Carers. We have a new allotment project getting underway in the summer of 2019 and I’m looking forward to sharing my horticulture passion and knowledge with the young carers as we develop the programme.

When I’m not in someone else’s garden, or my own, or studying; I play badminton, enjoy my photography, and spend time with family and friends.